Kaju Katli


This week I decided to try Indian sweets, not all of them just a few of my favourite ones. This particular recipe I haven’t tried yet but I have eaten it on numerous occasions and ask my Indian friends to get it for me whenever they go to India! There are numerous recipes and I can’t say which one is the best, but I’m  hoping this one turns out well.

The recipe isn’t mine and nor is the image. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

Cashew nuts (kaju) – 1 cup
Milk – 1 Cup
Sugar – 3/4 Cup
Ghee – 1/4 Cup
Edible Silver sheets for decoration

Method:
Soak the cashew nuts (kaju) in milk for few hours.
Blend the kaju to a fine paste adding milk if required.
Take a pan and add the blended paste and sugar.
Keep on stirring continuously for few minutes.
Add the ghee slowly into the pan and keep stirring till the mixture leaves the sides of the pan and forms a lump.
Add cardamom powder and mix well.
Remove from heat.
Spread evenly on a greased plate.
Decorate with the edible silver sheets.
Cool and cut the kaju barfi into diamond-shaped pieces.

You can even make this with almonds.

Leave a Reply

