Peppermint and White Chocolate Macarons


Allison Eats

 

I’ve wanted to try macaron-making again since the first attempt back in July. So, in the spirit of the holidays and an upcoming “White Elephant Party,” I decided it was a good opportunity to give it a whirl-this time with a more festive flavor combo. I’d heard that chocolate shells are the most difficult to make, so this time I went with a basic shell that’s flavored with peppermint extract. Naturally white chocolate is a good match for this, and pretty holiday-appropriate. Since the Chocolate-Caramel macarons, I’ve learned some tips in perfecting the texture of the shells:

  1. The first time I used a coarse almond meal, which gave the shells a grainy texture. I found they came out much nicer using a fine meal. I think this had a lot to do with the ingredients being able to blend better and gave me a smoother, thinner batter.
  2. Make sure…

View original post 689 more words

Leave a Reply

